United Arab Emirates University
United Arab Emirates University

United Arab Emirates University

Humanities and Social Sciences

About the College

With more than 3,500 students and 150 faculty members, CHSS is the largest of the nine Colleges which make up the University, distinguished by a rich tradition, commitment to heritage and innovation and a dedication to serve our community and the nation. It comprises 12 academic departments organized into two divisions, each led by Vice Dean as follows: Humanities

  • Arabic Language and Literature
  • English Literature
  • History and Archaeology
  • Linguistics
  • Translation Studies
  • Mass Communication
  • Philosophy
Social Sciences
  • Psychology and Counseling
  • Sociology
  • Social Work
  • Political Science
  • Geography and Urban Planning
  These departments offer 17 undergraduate degrees, a growing number of Master’s programs, as well as an established PhD program. The college offers state-of-the-art facilities, including a new high tech TV studio, media creativity lab, phonetics lab, geoinformatics lab, electroencephalography lab (EEG), linguistics lab, computer labs, amongst other. The CHSS houses the recently established Emirates University Center for Public Policy and Leadership, with the objective of conducting specialized research on various aspects of public policy and leadership; developing an information bank; providing training and professional development programs for those working in the field of public policy, and promoting fruitful and cooperative relationships with the community and stakeholders.